Nearing the end :-(

Hello Everyone-
On July 30th we checked my father into the Mercy Hospice unit here in Iowa City. He was treated for pneumonia and a bladder infection. He also had a blood transfusion. His throat muscles became so weak that drinking water was too difficult for a few days and the only food we could get him to eat more than a nibble of was chocolate ice-cream. We treated him at the hospital with a leg massage from a cute blond (which he appreciated very much). In fact, while at the hospital, he was not saying much, but when a couple nurses came in, he told them, “I like blonds.” Always a ladies man. 🙂 Eight days after he went into the hospital, on August 7th, he came home. We have a hospital bed here for him, thanks to Iowa City Hospice. He has continued to decline over the last few days. We started to give him some morphine for some pain in his legs and chest.

He is sleeping more and more soundly. This morning, my mother and I were repositioning him in bed by rolling him onto his side. He hadn’t really been waking up for anything but when my mother and I lifted him quickly and moved him, he abruptly woke and mumbled, “You guys try to throw me away?” Always with a sense of humor. I’m thinking that will be the last clear thing he will say. He has been in quite a deep sleep since then. Hospice is thinking this is his last week.

My brother has been on tour and we are so appreciative that his whole band made a detour and drove through Iowa City a couple days ago. My dad and brother got to talk one more time. 🙂 Thank you OTEP for doing that!

When my brother comes back at the end of September, we will have a small get together/ceremony for my dad. Our big party was on the 9th and we are still looking back on that day, appreciating all of you and the time we shared. I’ll continue to update. For now, we play lots of old school Greek music for him and put a little “vasilikos” (basil) under his nose for him to smell.

Leave a comment